That magical self validation post: 10,000 views!

Party time!
Party time!

I started this blog as a New Years resolution. I talk about having plans and ideas about many different things, but I never end up following through because I always know that I won’t have the energy and the attention span to carry them through. So mid-december I made the kpop blog I had always been talking about and it was my goal to keep writing on it throughout the year. In the beginning the only way I thought I would be able to keep writing is if I gave myself deadlines, and wrote on a regular basis. But good Kpop videos don’t come out on Monday, Wednesday and Friday of every week and throughout this year I’ve realized that keeping up with the blog is writing when ever I have something particularly important to say. If I force a post, it’s not gonna be good, and it’s OK to crunch posts up on one another if a bunch of good videos come out directly on top of one another.

I also didn’t stick with the same format. I thought that I was just going to talk about confusing cultural aspects and videos I think every kpop fan should take a listen to in order to experience the variety the genre offers. What this didn’t allow me to do was talk about videos that come out recently. As a tame fangirl, I don’t gush over my stars, but if a cool video comes out I want to talk about it and I didn’t give myself a format to talk about those things. This is where my most popular post type came about: the 10 about. I seem to get most of my views from google image search; too many people want to see screenshots of stars from their most recent videos, and my screenshots seem to help these people out a lot. Which means that people don’t read my blog, so much as view my blog. My blog has turn out to be more than my words and opinions, it turned out to be the patience it takes to scan through a video and hit print screen to get something that isn’t pixelated.

So I wanted to say thank you to the people who will read this post. While my 10 abouts account for many of my views, it’s the WordPress readers that make me feel like my voice and opinions matter too. A question also goes out to my wordpress readers: what would you want to see me do on my blog? I’ve always want to do new things, in a way that hasn’t really been done before, and I hope that you guys can help me figure out how to be a better blogger and bring you things that you’d want to read and view.

 

My most excited picture I could find. (Can't take one now, I'm in class)
My most excited picture I could find. (Can’t take one now, I’m in class)

Anyways, thanks guys! See you on the WordPress feed.

❤ Rebecca

One thought on “That magical self validation post: 10,000 views!”

  1. Congrats on your milestone! I know you don’t want to be like every kpop site out there, but reading your thoughts here and your comments on my blog make me want to read more of them in more long form content ways. Just a thought. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

